Music & Arts

Niall Horan – Special One Off Livestream From The Royal Albert Hall Raising Money For His Crew

R

Niall Horan is so happy to share that he will be playing a special Livestream show from the iconic Royal Albert Hall in London to raise money for his concert crew after his 'Nice to Meet Ya' tour was forced to cancel due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The pop star has been working with some of his team since One Direction's first tour in 2011 - and he says the pandemic has left many of them stranded. If there is no touring then they are out of work. His Stage Manager is working on a building site and a couple of the lads are working in Tesco and Sainsbury’s.

Live gigs and festivals can’t happen without the hard work of an incredible team behind the scenes, but without gigs, all of those people are out of jobs and the live music industry is at risk.

Last year the UK’s live music industry added £4.5bn to the economy and supported 200k jobs across the country. Until we can get back to doing what we love, it’s important we speak up and demand government support for all of the various venues, festivals and promoters.

The star and his crew were supposed to be on tour for six months this year, visiting Australia, Asia, Europe and America.

But while Horan used lockdown to write new songs and play radio sessions, he realises others didn't have that luxury. "I'm obviously one of the lucky ones, but not everyone is as lucky as me," he said. "I'm a 27-year-old dude, I live with one person, my cousin, in the middle of London. I'm fit and I'm healthy.

This is a one-off ticketed live show with a special cause in mind. All profits from the event will be shared between his touring crew and the #weneedcrew relief fund.  They will be playing to fans around the world on November 7th, with tickets going on sale this Friday, October 16th from 9am UK time. The cost of a ticket is £16 and you will be able to purchase them from  niallhoran.com

The former One Direction singer stated that this is something he needs to do and is incredibly passionate about as live events are something we all love and miss. Until they are able to return, he wanted to shine a light on the incredible crew members of the touring world that make those events possible and whose livelihoods have been severely affected by Covid-19 and the lack of financial support to self-employed Arts World members.  If you can't get six people around a table in a pub, how are you going to get 20,000 people into the O2 Arena? That's the way I've been thinking about it. And that's why I wanted to do this fundraiser now and not leave it any longer."

We've seen Niall hit Instagram live with his guitar throughout lockdown, but it's been so long since we've seen him with a full band and we honestly cannot wait!

"I’m putting on this gig to try and raise awareness of the immense value they bring to an industry enjoyed by so many, and do something to help them and their families."

"I ask all my fans to support them with me and buy a ticket if you can, and I encourage all artists to do the same."

No audience will be permitted into the venue, and the concert will not be available on-demand after it has taken place.

Worldwide Livestream times:

Livestream #1: UK, Ireland & Europe (8pm GMT, 9pm CET)
Livestream #2: North America (East Coast) & Central/South America (8pm EST, 10pm ART/BRT)
Livestream #3: North America (West Coast) (8pm PST)
Livestream #4: Australia, New Zealand & Asia (Sunday 8th November - 8pm AEDT, 10pm NZDT, 6pm JST & KST)


Posted 
Oct 15, 2020
 in 
Music & Arts
 category

More from 

Music & Arts

 category

View All

Join Our Newsletter and Get the Latest
Posts to Your Inbox

No spam ever. Read our Privacy Policy
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.